Professional Ambassadors

Sarah G

Associate | TLT

Profile Highlights:

  • State School educated
  • First Generation Lawyer
  • Family lawyer
Contact Me

To contact me, please login or register


Profile:

I am a family lawyer in Bristol.  I live with my partner and step-son in Wiltshire.

Growing up, I attended my local village state primary and secondary schools.  I studied English and Spanish at Exeter.  I spent a year working in Barcelona.  My experience pointed towards a career in journalism but after much deliberation, I completed the GDL and LPC at UWE. This felt like a big risk, as there were no lawyers in my family.  I secured a training contract at TLT which helped fund my studies, as well as working part time. I couldn’t have trained to become a lawyer without this backing.

My work as a family lawyer is demanding, juggling client needs and case deadlines with a busy home life.  I am passionate about family law, but frustrated by the need for law reform (such as no fault divorce and cohabitation law) and the lack of access to justice.

I helped form YRes, representing junior members of Resolution and am the current National YRes Chair.  I am also the youngest member of the organisation’s governing board.

Giving something back is important. I have always been involved in CSR and pro bono. I have been shortlisted twice for Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year at the Bristol Law Society Awards and was also awarded CSR Individual of the Year in 2014.

I am a founding member of Bristol Professional Women’s Network, the only female professional networking group in the area. The network is a way of connecting with other like-minded professionals, to establish long-lasting relationships, with the aim that this will benefit not just our members, but also our clients, now and in the future.

I am passionate about diversity in law. A diverse workforce can reap benefits for forward-thinking law firms. I feel that my experiences have given me an ability to empathise with clients, and a unique approach to my cases.

Back To Profiles